top of page
  • Writer's pictureChihiro Shigemitsu

Front card design Experiment

Idea sketches

For the front side of the card, I want:

-consistency with the design of the back side

-easy to read

-simple

-font fits the overrall aesthetic of the game


The font I used was called Bodoni 72



-Bodoniis the name given to the seriftypefacesfirst designed byGiambattista Bodoni(1740–1813) in the late eighteenth century and frequently revived since.[1][2]Bodoni's typefaces are classified asDidoneor modern.

-Some digital versions of Bodoni are said to be hard to read due to "dazzle" caused by the alternating thick and thin strokes, particularly as the thin strokes are very thin at small point sizes. This is very common whenoptical sizesof font intended for use at display sizes are printed at text size, at which point the hairline strokes can recede to being hard to see. Versions of Bodoni that are intended to be used at text size are "Bodoni Old Face", optimized for 9 points; ITC Bodoni 12 (for 12 points); and ITC Bodoni 6 (for 6 points).

-Massimo Vignellistated that "Bodoni is one of the most elegant typefaces ever designed."[5]In the English-speaking world, "modern" serif designs like Bodoni are most commonly used in headings and display uses and in upmarket magazine printing, which is often done on high-gloss paper that retains and sets off the crisp detail of the fine strokes. In Europe, they are more often used in body text.



I used this font because to me, it looked very elegant and had a formal feeling, which I thought would be perfect for my game. Since the game is intended to be something that connects people and doesn't confine the activity to just when the game is being played (meaning that the same conversations could be held after the game has ended), I thought something with formality, classicalness, seriousness, but also visually appealing would be good for the game.



 



These are the finished sketches for the front side of the card. I used the example question:


"Your house is on fire. You can only save one parent. Which would you choose."


Personally, (starting from the upper left side) I like the second, fourht, fifth, sixth. I think the illustration is a nice way to show the casualness of the game and at the same time, the contrast of the gruesomeness of the question and the casual depiction of a burning house would be funny.


I thought of numbering the questions to give it a more card game feel to it, and it loks nice as well, so I'l have to choose between to put it in or not.


I also want to consider maing the design simple, like the last twp desings. Perhaps a little dull but i think it serves the purpose of being able to read quickly. And its not like how pretty the design is going to contribute to the card being more easier to play, so keeping it clean would be a priority.





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wendy tutorial notes

-will there be any updates of after fmp -will there be any group meetings fourth third sentence too small should design to scale, subtler small back design angle of exposed is wrong, looks off tilt it

Refelction

I think my ideas are good looking. But i keep on forgetting that I need to make the rules of playing it, which would be the most important thing in the game. The designs are not really what I thought

bottom of page