top of page
  • Writer's pictureChihiro Shigemitsu

FMP Sktechbook



00:00 - 00:14


Pre-project research


Pretty shitty research, since I knew nothing of what to do. Maybe I could've had more visual direction and branched out more from the research I did at this point.


00:15 - 00:20


Project proposal presentation feedback


I think I was able to get some rough idea of what I wanted to do at this point, but should've used more of my sketchbook to cultivate my ideas. Maybe more of thinking what I wanted to communicate and research more about the ideas.


00:23 - 00:37


Research on card games that use a similar topic.

I think dissecting the games and the methods used in them helped me gain a more concrete idea of what my final outcome could look lie. Took two examples and observed how they were played and what the player's reactions were.


00:37 - 00:45


From the right side page.

First prototype. Used cereal box as inspiration and drew out the net of the box and recreated it with copy paper.


00:45 -


From the right side page.

Visual board types of boxes.

From the sarah boris talk at Chelsea, she introduced one of her products she designed for and the box and card design for it was pretty cool.


00:51 -


Left side.

Just picture of Cartoon Museum research.


00:51 -


Right side.

Process photos and advice from tutors of prototype.

Probably a good decision that I started making real stuff at an earlier stage. Didn't take much time to make and it gave me a small sense of achievement when I saw the finished prototype.


1:01 - 1:13


Asked my peers what size cards they like the best and what topics could be good for the game. I think asking what cared size is good was a good question to ask since it was easier to get the answers and use it for my piece, but for what topics was really difficult.


1:20 - 1:21


Tutor advice notes from frank. Frank is just so so good coming up with the questions. I think throughout working on projects I should talk to a lot of people cause you never know when you could come across someone who could be the best match to talk about your project with.


1:24 - 1:38


Visual board of box design.


1:41 - 1:49


Mind map of questions for the game. I think I should have organized this page since coming up with the questions are so so hard.


1:53 - 03:06


Sketchbook pages from workshop.

Shape references from book Ameet showed me.


03:09 - 03:14


Observation of UNO card box and instruction manual. I think looking at real life products and observing them gave me more inspiration towards making my piece look more professional like and more towards practical usage.


03:18 - 03:25


Prototype no. 2 using plot cutter and the box net. I really really liked using the plot cutter . I think using the machine and having the interaction with Ameet and MAricus using the machine gave me a more clear and clear idea of what my final piece would look like. Maybe for my future projects, I should actually use the equiptment more faster in the process so that I could start going into the process of thinking about the final piece.


03:25 - 03:49


Right side of the page.

Screenprinting testing on textured paper.

Using the print workshop for the first time was really fun. Carla showed me the GF smith paper sample and I was able to use them fr professional looking samples for my piece. Plus having them letting me use a random screen and doing it on some leftover paper sample were ery helpful since I wasd able to tell how the outcome was gping to looklike.


03:50 - 03:55


more prototypes and feedback sheet from tutor tutorial with Wendy.


03:58 - 4:02


Box designs.

I think making a page with sketched and designs that are more neat looking was important. Maybe I could've done something in photoshop and illustrator and make more professional looking idea board would be something I could put in a portfolio.

 

Process of Making the Video


Used a video from Wendy as reference.

The paper wasn't big enough for the sketchbook, so it looks kind of wierd. But the stable camera looks cool.


 

Reflection


I think my sketchbook for this project shows a lot of how I worked hard on this project. It shows every step I took and all the prototypes I made, so for this project, I think I did a good job on documenting.


One thing I could've worked on a little bit more could bge to broaden out my research a little bit more. With my tutorial with Wendy, she pointed out that I could've done some visual research with the word: expose, or more visual research with individual topics and not the big topics, which were about the game. I think I could've organized my thoughts a little bit more and in my blog, I could've made updates about my projects and write about what I want to communicate and organize the more factual stuff about my project.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wendy tutorial notes

-will there be any updates of after fmp -will there be any group meetings fourth third sentence too small should design to scale, subtler small back design angle of exposed is wrong, looks off tilt it

Refelction

I think my ideas are good looking. But i keep on forgetting that I need to make the rules of playing it, which would be the most important thing in the game. The designs are not really what I thought

bottom of page