top of page
  • Writer's pictureChihiro Shigemitsu

Sarah Boris Talk 03/03/2020


This is the first lecture in a while, and one thing I noticed first was that the hallway STANK of weed.


Notes:

-sent hundreds of CVs

-designed flyers for clubs at first jobs

-quit a few jobs after a few days

-FOLLOW YOUR GUT FEELINGS

-studied at LCC

-wanted to work at the Barbican very badly

-worked at Institute of Comtenporary Art (fighter mode, didn't want external designers doing the big works, put social life aside, worked really hard)

-likes the idea of MOTION THROUGH PRINT

-Phaidon (hated working there)

-love screen printing

-MOT COMMONS

-referendum

-10 Hurdles in Design (1. Not enjoying the course=talk about it to people and don't isolate yourself 2.portfolio is not good enough=do internships and build a professional portdioio and show your portfolio to people 3.Set your work ethics and boundaries 3.Don't take rejection from workplaces and clients seriously 4.Don't work for free and value and protect your work 4. Maintain a good work balance )


I really liked Sarah's talk. She was very enthusiastic and it was very entertaining listening to her experience of her having to print out boobs.


It gave me a sense of relief when she advised us to maintain and good balance between work and personal life. I need to work harder to be able to not need to work at home, or bring back any work to home. I need more EFFICIENCY!


Also, I noticed that she has a very very wide range of professional work. And I could tell that her personal work of screen printing are things she's used for work and commercial use as well. I wish I could do that as well. I haven'T been able to go to the screen printing workshop, but I should do get used to the feeling.


Sarah handed these works out. It is designed by her, and I think that her idea could be a nice reference to my own work. It is very cute, and I love how is looks.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page