top of page
  • Writer's pictureChihiro Shigemitsu

24/7 Project Notes No.1

Updated: Feb 18, 2020

Creating process:

1.Research book binding techniques and steps

2.Experiment and try out with copy paper

3.Organize my reactions to the exhibition

4.Draw, paint, sketch, mark make, write based off fo the reactions

5.Plan out the book

6.Make the book


(Use materials and process to expand your approach:

Think about what a book without words is. What can the format do? It can portray the whole aesthetic of the piece. It can also give rhythm to the reading of the text. It can label the visual image. Interpretation can change. What differences do materials make to meaning? Cloth, wood, paper, can change the storyline. It can change the background of the story. What can you, as the designer, communicate through complexity, simplicity, pace, colour? I don't know yet. Think: prototype, prototype and prototype again.)


Ask yourself these questions:

-Did a particular part of the exhibition speak to you?


I liked the first piece of the machine programmed to down endless, worthless job. It brought up the question of if we have lost control of our lives. It was visually and also pleasing to the ears as well. But it brought up a sense of panic and confusion into my mind.


I also liked the pieces that questioned our way of working and the correlation with time with that. One piece I enjoyed was a piece that used the idea of the Greenwich Meantime. It was made by the United Kingdom but what were the other countries doing without this system? What were their time like? Did it pass differently? I liked how it brought up the contrast between the East and the West and brought up multiple topics: industrialism, mental health, overworking, wellness of life, colonisation....


I also liked the sleep area as well. Serveillance was nah.

-Did one of the ideas presented stick in your mind?


One quote I really liked was this:


"Sleep coincides with the metabolising of what is ingested in the day: drugs, alcohol, all the detritus(waste or debris of any kind) from the interfacing with the illuminated screens, but also the flood of anxieties, fears, doubts, longings, imaginings of failure of the big score."


It emphasises the idea of how essential sleep is important to us, and how it was once something we needed to rest our bodies physically, we now need to rest mentally as well, and a little bit more different, to digest all of the information we took in while living about in or information filled lives.


There were several ideas presented in the exhibition about how we are living completely efferent lives and that it is making us 'bad'. About how our privacy is under threat from over surveillance. All of these topics I have both sides of opinions, but supporting more sleep and emphasising how important it is, I fully agree on.

-Did you disagree / agree with any of the works?


Agree with Sleep

-What are your thoughts on the non-stop nature of modern life?


I think that being busy with out lives is a trend of our generation that we just need to deal with. Of course it's a dire situation with people dying of stress, a spike in mental health issued among people, and family shapes changing causing a gap between the young and elderly. But, perhaps evolution? At least we"re making a problem out of this, cause it's going to a better path. It does sometimes gets tiring. But I don't feel it because of the nature of modern life, but rather just a personal thing, like: oh, schoolwork is so busy, not: modern life has made schoolwork way too much harder for children in my generation and it is causing me great pain. It's a problem I can't really see an issue with because it is my life itself.

 

Notes from this morning's talk:

-just start thinking about what kind of book you want to make

-visually pleasing is important

-being able to make three editions of the same book is about how easily you can make it

-do not over-complicate everything

 

BOOK BINDING RESEARCH


-Fishbone fold



My work focuses on the book as a three-dimensional object that can be explored and reinvented beyond traditional modes of binding and display

-born in Berlin

-graduated with a degree in graphic design

-conservator


Other works by her:

Memo:

-very very visually pleasing

-no words

-illustrations speak the language

-materials give depth and variety to the story of the book

-kind of like making marks out of music we listened to

-play with the eye

-play with angle and perspective


How to Make 1 2




Memo:

-pretttyyy

-using paper and string is interesting

-the intertwining with string into the paper could give some kind of message

-form of book as a bag is interesting

-doesn't have to be a binder pile of paper




  I became interested in communication and  language, producing  an  artistic  body  of work  visually  focused on written text. For me writing has become a tool to reflect on how language  shapes  our  memories  and identities.  


-paper is a "material that lends itself to all kinds if conceptual and formal transformations"


Paper supports not only what we place on it but our very ideas and memories, so instead of simply  drawing  on   paper  I converted paper into the ´ink´ with which to draw and write. I do not draw on paper but with paper, building my works in the air.

Memo:

-what is paper as a material? she is saying that paper 'saves' the thought that is behind the words and picture we write and draw on it.


The inspiration for my Artists books and Collagraph prints comes from antique textiles and embroidery that I collected over the many years I taught.
The fragility of the pieces encourages me to explore what is not there, to look beyond the fabric edges and so add to the elusive tales that the fragments have to tell.

Memo:

-reminds me of pop up picture books I used to read as a kid

-maybe I should consider the possible interpretation of the movements of the pages

 

fold -- hide, safe, close, dark, protect

string -- bind, bond, promise, destiny, secure, strong, weak

see-through -- inter-dimension, world, imaginative, dream like, intertwine

frame -- window, artwork, painting, picture, memory


pop out, layer, window, cut out, string

 

Illustration BA Exhibition


 

Class Examples




37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection from portfolio making

When making projects, I need to make it in a process where I can make a nice looking portfolio -visual thinking(sketches and things and use lots of colors and use materials) Do the thing where you pai

Final Outcome No.2

What to do: -try making my own beer label with the templates online -what would my labels be written? -what color scheme will my campaign have? -what logo and motto will my campaign have? alcohol misu

bottom of page